Draft Chattanooga Interactive ITS Architecture – SCOPE


By Physical Object
By Stakeholder

Roles and Resp

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


Regional ITS Architecture for the Chattanooga Region.

Note: This RAD–IT Architecture database contains all of the primary elements of the Chattanooga Regional ITS Architecture. The Chattanooga–Hamilton County RPA will lead the maintenance efforts for this architecture. A goal was set to maintain changes to the Regional ITS Architecture on a yearly basis in coordination with a review of the ITS Deployment Plan, and perform a major update every four years prior to the Long Range Transportation Plan update.

Time Frame: 2021–2050

Geographic Scope

The geographic boundaries of the Chattanooga Regional ITS Architecture are the same as the Chattanooga–Hamilton County/North Georgia TPO. This includes all of Hamilton County in Tennessee, Catoosa County in Georgia, and the northern portions of Dade and Walker Counties in Georgia. The boundaries also include a portion of I–75 in Bradley County where TDOT has deployed a fog detection system whose command and control operations are located in Chattanooga.

Service Scope

Identify services, functions and interfaces for ITS deployment and integration in the Chattanooga Region.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.